Drug offensesbuying marijuana drugs are heavily prosecuted in Florida, including marijuana offenses. Without a medical marijuana card from the state, you could be facing serious penalties if you are found guilty for even simple possession, you could be facing penalties including over a year in jail, large fines, and a permanent criminal record. Additionally, all Florida marijuana convictions carry an automatic one-year driver’s license suspension.

If you have been arrested for a marijuana offense, is important that you seek representation as soon as possible from a Tampa criminal defense attorney at Wagner McLaughlin Attorney James Guarnieri, Jr. has practiced law since 2002, and has represented numerous individuals against their criminal charges, including marijuana offenses. Attorney Guarnieri proudly carries a perfect 10.0 Superb rating from Avvo, serving as a testament to both his legal skill and dedication to client service.

Get help with your marijuana offense from Wagner McLaughlin; call(813) 225-4000 for a free consultation!


While Florida does make a few legal exemptions if you possess a medical marijuana card, the use of the substance for recreational purposes is still considered illegal.

Florida’s marijuana laws and penalties include:

  • Possession: Possessing 20 grams or less is a misdemeanor with penalties including up to one year in prison and $1,000 in fines. More than 20 grams is considered a felony, with fines of up to $200,000 and 30 years in prison for extreme cases.
  • Cultivation: Possessing marijuana plants or contributing to their cultivation in any form is a felony with a maximum fine of $50,000 and 30 years in prison.
  • Sale of Marijuana: Selling marijuana or possessing it with the intent to sell is a felony, unless you intended to distribute it without remuneration, in which case the crime is downgraded to a misdemeanor. Penalties are similar to that of possession.
  • Possession of Paraphernalia: The devices used to consume marijuana recreationally are considered illegal, and possessing them is a misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of 1 year in prison and a $1,000 fine.
  • Possession of Hash & Concentrates: these extremely potent substances are an automatic felony, with a 5 year maximum prison sentence and $5,000 as maximum penalties.

If you have been arrested and are awaiting trial for a marijuana charge, do not hesitate to contact Wagner McLaughlin as soon as possible!